Is your fiance rich?

Is your fiancé rich?

When I was 22 I was engaged.  While at the supermarket one day I met a woman, of about 80, in the fruit section.  She caught my attention by boldly asking “Is your fiancé rich?”  Stunned by her question, I turned and looked at her while thinking, “She doesn’t even know me” and then “Does she know my fiancé? Does she know something I need to know about him?”

 “Honey, you can love a rich man as well as a poor.  Check out his wallet size first.” The seriousness of her voice startled me.  “At the end of the life that’s all that matters,” she told me.

“Love is for memories but money is for living that’s why you go for the fat wallet first.

You’re married until death do you part. If you divorce you need money to fund alimony and child support and if he dies, you need money to keep living.”

That day I thought she was being a little abrasive and cold but now looking back at the age of 56, and after being married, it makes sense.  Now I’m divorced and living with a disability—no alimony, no child support; no money from that engaged man that turned husband because he was a poor man.  You can’t get blood out of a turnip.

3 thoughts on “Is your fiance rich?

  1. Loralie Lee: “Don’t you know that a man being rich is like a girl being pretty? You wouldn’t marry a girl just because she’s pretty, but my goodness, doesn’t it help?”

    Believe it or not, I just wrote a short piece about this a month ago, called “What’s Wrong with Marrying a Sugar Daddy?”

    But I frankly think we get what we want, in the end. Men with money often come with lots of strings attached. They can be controlling, demanding, philandering, and they can end up poor too… the rats.

  2. Yes. Money helps but there is more to sizing up a man than using his money.
    First of all, women today need their own money. You remember that song by Billie Holiday, “God Bless the Child That’s Got Her Own.”

    I can get my own money. Give me a man who is supportive of my interests, doesn’t mind cooking or washing the clothes. These are minor chores that mean so much in daily life. I was worn out from my first marriage by working and doing all of the above. All my Ex thought was sufficient was bringing in a paycheck. He was a workaholic. I hardly ever saw him, and when he was home he was always tired. That was not enough for me, that’s one reason why he had to go.
    My current marriage is just the opposite. Not much money, but a lot of love, support, and time spent on making the marriage a priority.
    Don’t let the GREEN BILLS fool ya’.

Leave a Reply

