Parenting On Your Back

How do you parent when you’re lost your mobility? 

     My sister called when I was on the other line talking with my friend Jenia.  I clicked over to take her call and found that she wanted me to take care of her 15-year-old daughter for 10 days.  I clicked the phone back to Jenia and candidly told her it was my sister wanting me to do childcare.  Even though I didn’t ask for her opinion, she immediately, responded in a rather adamant tone,”You can’t watch her kid.  What can you do for the child?”

     At first, I was a little offended and somewhat appalled.  My well-meaning friend went on to ask me, “How will she eat?”  As a parent lying on my back, I recognized, children need so much more support than physical.  That’s just one basic need.  My niece at the age of fifteen, I know she can follow directions and wouldn’t have any problem preparing food for not only her but me too, if needed.

     Remembering that people speak from their experiences, I let go of my disappointment and began to put things in perspective. As a parent lying on my back, I recognized, children need so much more support than physical.  I depend on a power greater than myself.  Lying on my back, I see how we are all connected in this world.  I serve a God of I AM.  I have learned to see the world as my extended family.  Whenever I had a need, the world has always filled it.

     Studies show so many of our children are deprived of unconditional love, positive attention, spiritual guidance, a live body to listen and understand them; and moreover welcome them into the universe as a blessing.  Children need nourishment as well as nurturing.

Mind of a goddess

Leave a Reply

